58 Photos of 58 Days in Africa

Published On April 13, 2014 | By This World Rocks | Africa, Botswana, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Recent, South Africa, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Share this:

As savvy readers of our blog may have noticed, we enjoyed our 2 month overland trip (check out this post, or this one, or this one). But we did so many things that my memories are already blurring together. So this post of our daily itinerary is mostly for myself, but if you are planning a tour or a drive, or just love our Africa stories, enjoy!  Thanks Tour Leader Joe for providing this list, I was not one of the dedicated journalers on the trip!  – Alissa

1. Saturday, January 4 – Drive to Arusha, Tanzania
Our first day on the overland truck.  We spent the night at a campsite called Snake Park that had a bar in which all proceeds benefit a free health clinic for locals.
africaday1

2. Sunday, January 5 – Lake Manyara, Tanzania
africaday2

3. Monday, January 6 – Ngorngoro Crater
africaday3

4. Tuesday January 7 – Serengeti National Park
The Great Migration in the Serengeti.
africaday4

5. Wednesday, January 8 – Drive to Marangu, Tanzania (near Mount Kilimanjaro)
Holding an alligator at Snake Park before departing to Marangu.
africaday5

6. Thursday, January 9 – Marangu
We took a walking tour of a local village as well as some nearby waterfalls.
africaday6

7. Friday, January 10 – View of Mount Kilimanjaro from our campsite before driving to Segera
africaday7
8. Saturday, January 11 – Drive to Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
The roads of Dar es Salaam.
africaday8

9. Sunday, January 12 – Ferry to Zanzibar
After the ferry to Zanzibar, we took a bus ride up to Nungwi Beach.
africaday9

10. Monday, January 13 – Nungwi Beach
The sunset view during our booze cruise!
africaday10

11. Tuesday, January 14 – Nungwi Beach
africaday11

12. Wednesday, January 15 – Stone Town

We also had lunch at The Rock, a unique restaurant

africaday12
13Thursday, January 16 – Drive to Mikumi bushcamp
africaday13

14. Friday, January 17 – Drive to Sao Hills bushcamp
africaday14

15. Saturday, January 18 – Drive to Chitimba, Malawi
One of our favorite beaches of the trip which featured beach soccer, plenty of frisbee and volleyball, and we even got to teach our fellow passengers beersbee, our favorite drinking game!
africaday15

16. Sunday, January 19 – Chitimba (20k hike up Nyika Plateau)
africaday16

17. Monday, January 20 – Chitimba
Attempted drive to Kande, had to turn around due to road blockage.
africaday17

18. Tuesday, January 21 – Drive to Kande Beach
africaday18

19. Wednesday, January 22 – Kande Beach
On Kande beach we took part in some beach games, a costume party, and a pig roast.
africaday19

20. Thursday, January 23 – Kande Beach
Island fishing trip with a local.  This island was even close enough for me to swim to!
africaday20

21. Friday, January 24 – Drive to Lilongwe
We had to all get off the truck and walk across this bridge first.  Then the truck crossed it without any passengers.  I’m glad it made it across!
africaday21

22. Saturday, January 25 – Drive to Mozambique bushcamp
Stopping for some roadside chicken and chips.
africaday29

23. Sunday, January 26 – Drive to Casa Msika Lodge
Celebrating Australian Day with all the Aussies on the trip by having a punch night!
africaday23

24. Monday, January 27 – Casa Msika
Our truck got stuck in the mud and we had to stay in Mozambique an extra night.
africaday24

25. Tuesday, January 28 – Drive to Great Zimbabwe Ruins
africaday25

26. Wednesday, January 29 – Drive to Antelope Park
africaday26

27. Thursday, January 30 – Antelope Park
Watching lions hunt on the night encounter.
africaday27

28. Friday, January 31 – Antelope Park
Us on the lion walk.
lion-walk
29. Saturday, February 1 – Drive to Bulawayo
africaday22

30. Sunday, February 2 – Bulawayo
Trekking to spot some white rhinos.
africaday30

31. Monday, February 3 – Drive to Tucker Camp near Hwange National Park
Me and my cook group making tacos, including tortillas made from scratch!
africaday31

32. Tuesday, February 4 – Drive to Victoria Falls
africaday32

33. Wednesday, February 5 – Victoria Falls
Dan bungee jumping off the Victoria Falls bridge.
africaday33

34. Thursday, February 6 – Victoria Falls
Whitewater rafting!
africaday34

35. Friday, February 7 – Victoria Falls
A photo from a helicopter ride taken by our fellow passenger Bill.
africaday35

36. Saturday, February 8 – Drive to Kasane, Botswana

We took a sunset pontoon boat safari.

africaday36
37. Sunday, February 9 – Drive to Elephant Sands Campground
africaday37

38. Monday, February 10 – Drive to Maun
africaday38

39. Tuesday, February 11 – Okavango Delta

We spent two nights camping on the delta with our local guides.

africaday39
40. Wednesday, February 12- Okavango Delta
africaday40

41. Thursday, February 13 – Return to Maun
africaday41

42. Friday, February 14 – Drive to Ngepi Camp, Namibia
africaday42

43. Saturday, February 15 – Drive to Baobab tree bushcamp
africaday43

44. Sunday, February 16 – Drive to Etosha
A watering hole on our desert game drive.
africaday45
45. Monday, February 17 – Drive to Cheetah Park
africaday45-b

46. Tuesday, February 18 – Drive to Brandberg Mountains
africaday46

47. Wednesday, February 19 – Drive to Swakopmund
Hiking Spitzkoppe Peak.
africaday47

48. Thursday, February 20 – Swakopmund
africaday48

49. Friday, February 21 – Swakopmund
Two locals enjoying a moment during Dan’s township tour.
africaday49

50. Saturday, February 22 – Drive to Bousmans Camp
africaday50

51. Sunday, February 23 – Drive to Sesrium NWR Sossuvlei
africaday51

52. Monday, February 24 – Drive Naute Dam
africaday52

53. Tuesday, February 25 – Drive to Felix Unite
Hiking the rim of Fish River Canyon.
africaday53

54. Wednesday, February 26 – Felix Unite
africaday54

55. Thursday, February 27 – Drive to Cape Town
Our first green scenery after leaving the Namibia
africaday55

56. Friday, February 28 – Cape Town
A wine tour in Fraenchoek.
africaday56

57. Saturday, March 1 – Cape Town
A cricket match in Cape Town.
africaday57

58. Sunday, March 2 – Cape Town
Hiking Table Mountain.
africaday58

Share this:

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

3 Responses to 58 Photos of 58 Days in Africa

  1. wbmmrdumiya@gmail.com' Duminda uduwawala says:

    wow picture’s are amazing ,you are the one who make change my mind about Africa ,thanks for that , the idea about Africa in my mind was horrible……. now I’m willing to visit Africa now I know every places in the world has specialty

  2. nabeelfarid@gmail.com' Nabeel says:

    Fantastic photos..can’t wait to get there this nov :)

  3. debbie@worldadventurists.com' Debbie says:

    Looks like an amazing trip and incredible photos! Makes me miss Africa SO much! I would love to go experience more of it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>